And I


, , , , ,

And I

Just drifting through this life

Floating just above the surface

A shadow in the darkest night

Leaving neither mark nor trace

And I

A whisper on a silent breeze

No more than just a troubled dream

A memory you thought you had

But nothing more to make you scream

And I

A fleeting stop along the way

Words you felt someone had wept

Or you had read upon a stone

Something you felt you could have kept

And I

Swept away upon the tide

Nothing more than nothing more than

Ashes taken by the wind and

Blown back to where it all began

And I

© All original writing copyright Chris Nelson 2000-2021

The Burn


, , , , , , , , ,

This could be the night

This could be the time

When all those thoughts we’ve come to know

Find their voice and start to rhyme,

This could be the fire

This could be the burn

The reason that we’ve come to be

Takes away the need to turn,

This could be the ending

This could be the start

When all the treasures that we hold

Melt slowly in another’s heart,

This could be the reason

Why we still remain

All the things we ever needed

Found upon a different plane,

This could be the night

This could be the time

When all those thoughts we’ve come to know

Find their voice and start to rhyme.

© All original writing copyright Chris Nelson 2000-2021

Book Release – Creation and the Cosmos

Raw Earth Ink

Hello friends,

Raw Earth Ink is proud to present Creation and the Cosmos: A Poetic Anthology Inspired by Nature.

From the back:

Inspiration for art comes from all over, we have only to see it. Within “Creation and the Cosmos” you will discover nature’s revelation transformed into poetry, rhyme, digital photographic art, painting, photography, and more. Throughout these pages, thirty-two artists and writers from all over the world express their emotions and thoughts as seen through the wide-open eyes of nature.

From stars and moon, birds in flight, the raging storm, a deer’s quiet passing, the salty depths of the sea, rolling hills and towering mountains: there is art in all creation. Sink your hands into the rich soul-soil of humanity’s finest creators and allow all of nature, both dark and light, to impress its artistry in your heart.

I couldn’t be happier with this collection. It’s beautiful and I’m…

View original post 157 more words

Ruffled Edges


, , , , , , , , , , ,

We came here so

Many years ago,

Chasing the ruffled edges

Of a crumpled photograph

Its monochrome hues whispering

Hushed voices still echoing

From white-edged border to faded frame,

Days stilled by wishful perception

Of contentment borne on wings

Which hung like the slow-mouthed moon

Captured by the eye but slipping ever

Between the fingers that reached out

Lost like the hopeful,

And frozen images caught our eye

Like souls entrapped –

And did we know that ours would follow?

Or was it all a dream

The promise that we shared

With a belief in something better?

And we’ll meet again one day

When all the pictures have faded

And all our dreams have died,

We’ll visit them at night

And walk along the rows

Of all we never knew

And ponder why we came

And shred ourselves on all we ever lost.

© All original writing copyright Chris Nelson 2000-2021

Published Works

Raw Earth Ink

Hello friends,

This morning I woke up to over a foot of snow (when 3″ was forecast) and the FedEx driver calling me to say he would not drive down my road due to the deep snow. He left my package (proof copies of a client’s books) in a plastic bag in the snow bank and continued on. I, on the other hand, put my pants and boots on and headed down, down, down my driveway in snow up to my knees to collect my excitedly anticipated books.

Huffing and puffing aside, it’s all worth it to me, to open that box and pull out a beautiful book which an author has entrusted to me to edit, format, and ultimately publish. What an honor; I am blessed beyond words.

Recently, Hidden Bear‘s second edition book of poetry, Moleskine on a Coffee Table, released. I was delighted with not…

View original post 189 more words

‘Glass House’


, , , , , , , , ,

I woke up in the glass house, the rhythmic beat of the rain filling the spaces between my ears, its drumming echoing the beat of my heart. In an ocean of memories and dreams I watched myself float, unsure of which was which, backwards and forwards with the immeasurable tide. Each horizon – the mirror glass of the room that held me – bounced reflections of faces I would never be, and those that I had held as mine, deep into my eyes. I stared through the ages, to where this had all begun, and further, further still, to a point before this had all been some fantastical wish in a young girl’s eye. Back, back to a time before the bonds of dogma, before the settlers had lost their nomadic feet, before the chill had come. In an endless moment that flashed quicker than the fork which tore the darkness apart I saw each turn that had led to this. 

The umbilical current pulled at me once more dragging my eyes towards another mirror. This one seemed to hang like a ghost before the panes beyond it unsure of its purpose. I felt compelled to stare as if expecting it to reveal its secrets at any moment.

© All original writing copyright Chris Nelson 2000-2021

Creation and the Cosmos

I am delighted to be able to announce the imminent publication of the latest anthology of poetry from Raw Earth Ink.

Creation and the Cosmos is packed with an incredible range of poetry inspired by nature and the natural world.

I am thrilled and proud to have five of my own pieces included in this anthology and would like to take this opportunity to thank Tara Caribou who edited this book for her hard work and deducation to this project.

The book, both in physical and electrinic version will be available from March 23rd and I have attached the relevant links below…plus some images to whet your appetite!

Available in paperback at:

Barnes & Noble



Lost Words


, , , , , , ,

I lost some words today

Words that I had watched over

Like a parent

Like a hawk,

Words that I had nurtured and fed

With my flesh and blood

Held in my hands

Like gems

Like eggs,

And when in the moments between

The gunshot beats of my heart

My eyelids fell

They were gone

Like the seasons

Like the storms,

The clouds that swept from eye to sky

Which scratched the marks

Implied the meaning I had known

And held each page

Each verse each line

Like a child

Like a curse.

© All original writing copyright Chris Nelson 2000-2021